ENPI CBC BSB 2007-2013 - Eligibility

Eligible Areas

The following regions or countries form the eligible area of the Black Sea Programme:

Bulgaria: NUTS II regions of Severoiztochen and Yugoiztochen
Greece: NUTS II regions of Kentriki Makedonia, Anatoliki Makedonia and Thraki
Romania: NUTS II region of South-East
Turkey: NUTS II equivalent regions of Istanbul, Tekirdağ, Kocaeli, Zonguldak, Kastamonu, Samsun and Trabzon (More precisely: NUTS II equivalent regions of TR10 (İstanbul), TR21 (Tekirdağ, Edirne, Kırklareli), TR42 (Kocaeli, Sakarya, Düzce, Bolu, Yalova), TR81 (Zonguldak, Karabük, Bartın), TR82 (Kastamonu, Çankırı, Sinop), TR83 (Samsun, Tokat, Çorum, Amasya) and TR90 (Trabzon, Ordu, Giresun, Rize, Artvin, Gümüşhane)
Ukraine: Odessa, Mykolaiv, Kherson, Zaporosh’ye and Donetsk Oblasts, Crimea Republic and Sevastopol
Armenia, Georgia, R. Moldova: all regions

Eligible Applicants

The following paragraphs summarize the type of entities that can apply under the various measures of the Black Sea JOP:

Priority 1 – Supporting cross border partnerships for economic and social development based on common resources.

Indicative applicants for this Priority are local and regional administrations, development agencies, NGOs active in local development, associations of agricultural producers and fishermen, public agencies active in the fields of business promotion etc.

Priority 2 – Sharing resources and competencies for environmental protection and conservation.

Indicative applicants for this Priority are local and regional administrations, NGOs active in environmental protection and conservation, research and higher education institutions and environmental protection agencies etc.

Priority 3 – Supporting cultural and educational networks for the establishment of a common cultural environment in the Basin.

Indicative applicants for this Priority are local and regional administrations, NGOs active in the cultural and social areas, cultural and educational institutions etc.

Technical Assistance

The Joint Management Authority (JMA) and the Joint Technical Secretariat (JTS) will be the direct beneficiaries of the Technical Assistance measures.
For more specific information regarding the eligibility of an entity to apply for the programme, please refer to the guidelines for applicants.

Eligibility of Projects

In order for a Project proposal to be eligible for financing under the Black Sea JOP, the project must be dropping into one of the following categories:

  1. Integrated projects with different activities in several countries that jointly achieve a certain objective having a cross border impact;
  2. Symmetrical projects with the same activities in all countries participating in the project;
  3. Single projects, implemented mainly or entirely in a single partner-country but having a cross-border impact.

Important notices:

  • Projects should always have a cross-border impact.
  • Priority will be given to integrated projects.
  • The recommended financial size and the number of partners involved in each project partnership will be defined in the calls for proposals.

The projects will be implemented by partnerships that will always involve partners from both EU Member States and non-EU partner countries. The participation of Turkish partners is only possible in tripartite projects involving at least one partner from a Member State and one partner from Armenia, Georgia, R. Moldova or Ukraine .

All partnerships will be led by a Beneficiary / Lead Partner responsible for financial management of the project in question and signing a contract on behalf of the partnership with the JMA. For Turkey special procedures will be established based on the IPA rules of implementation.